Treasury and Terrorist Financing Targeting Center Partners Issue First Joint Sanctions Against Key Terrorists and Supporters

Treasury and Terrorist Financing Targeting Center Partners Issue First Joint Sanctions Against Key Terrorists and Supporters


Treasury Collaborates with TFTC Member States to Designate ISIS-Y and AQAP Leaders, Financiers, and Facilitators

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) imposed sanctions on eight individuals and one entity today, targeting leaders, financiers, and facilitators of the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria in Yemen (ISIS-Y) and al-Qa’ida in the Arabian Peninsula (AQAP). This action was taken in partnership with the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, as the co-chair of the recently established Terrorist Financing Targeting Center (TFTC), as well as all other TFTC member states: the Kingdom of Bahrain, the State of Kuwait, the Sultanate of Oman, the State of Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates. Today’s collective actions are the first taken by the TFTC since its announcement during President Trump’s visit to the region in May.

“The creation of this new Terrorist Financing Targeting Center is a major step forward in our ability to disrupt the finances and operations of terrorist organizations. For the first time, we are establishing a multinational center to focus our efforts and disrupt the financial and support networks that enable terrorists. The TFTC will be a catalyst for additional multilateral actions against terrorist financiers, and a place where member countries come together to fight against these common threats,” said Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin. “Through this action we are aggressively targeting radical extremists in Yemen and the surrounding region who pose a direct threat to the security of the United States, Yemen, and the international community.”

OFAC designated all of these individuals and the entity pursuant to Executive Order (E.O.) 13224, which targets terrorists and those providing support to terrorists or acts of terrorism. As a result of today’s OFAC action, all property and interests in property of these persons subject to U.S. jurisdiction are blocked, and U.S. persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions with them. In addition, all TFTC Member States also designated Nayif Salih Salim al-Qaysi, Abd al-Wahhab Muhammad Abd al-Rahman al-Humayqani, Hashim Muhsin Aydarus al-Hamid, and Rahmah Charitable Organization, all of whom were previously designated by OFAC pursuant to E.O. 13224.

The TFTC was announced on May 21, 2017 as a bold and historic effort to expand and strengthen the seven member states’ cooperation to counter the financing of terrorism. The TFTC facilitates coordinated disruptive actions, sharing of financial intelligence information, and building member state capacity to target terrorist financing networks and related activities that pose national security threats to TFTC members.