Urgent Visa Notice (New Update 2/1/2017)

Under the Executive Order signed on January 27, 2017, referencing Section 212(f) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, visa issuance to nationals of Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen has been suspended effective immediately until further notification.  If you are a national of one of these countries, please do not schedule a visa appointment or pay any visa fees at this time.  However, the Embassy is now able to process visa applications and issue nonimmigrant and immigrant visas to otherwise eligible visa applicants who apply with a passport from an unrestricted country, even if they hold dual nationality from one of the seven restricted countries. U.S. lawful permanent residents may be admitted but, as always, are subject to standard case-by-case review procedures by U.S. customs officials at the port of entry.  We will announce any other changes affecting travelers to the United States as soon as that information is available.  The Executive Order does not affect American citizens (whether or not dual nationals), who are required to use their U.S. passports when entering and departing the United States.